Home » National News » Madhya Pradesh Political Crisis: 22 rebel Congress MLAs join BJP

Madhya Pradesh Political Crisis: 22 rebel Congress MLAs join BJP

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 21 March 2020, 19:50 IST

Twenty two Congress MLAs, including six ministers, who earlier put forward teir resignations in the thick of political mess in the state of Madhya Pradesh as Jyotiraditya Scindia crossed over to BJP, met BJP president JP Nadda on Saturday.

All the 22 rebel Congress legislators are expected to take primary membership of the BJP.

Jyotiraditya Scindia was in attendance at that moment when they met JP Nadda. Besides him two important leaders of Madhya Pradesh – Narendra Tomar and Kailash Vijayvargiya were also present.

After the 22 MLAs left the Kamal Nath led Congress government, the veteran Congress leader tendered his resignation just before the floor test.

It all started with Jyotraditya Scindia’s disappointment with the grand old party. In his resignation letter to Sonia Gandhi, Scindia wrote, “While my aim and purpose remain the same as it has always been from the very beginning, to serve the people of my state and country, I believe I am unable to do this anymore within this party.”

Jyotiraditya Scindia also accused his former party of living in denial.

Also Read: BJP hits back at Ashok Gehlot for accusing party of indulging in horse-trading in Madhya Pradesh

Also Read: Shiv Sena launches scathing attack on Kamal Nath: 'Decline of MP government is due to his carelessness'

First published: 21 March 2020, 19:50 IST