Home » National News » Lok Sabha results: EC trends show BJP sweeping Delhi

Lok Sabha results: EC trends show BJP sweeping Delhi

News Agencies | Updated on: 4 June 2024, 14:36 IST
BJP workers chant Hanuman Chalisa at BJP headquarters in Delhi (ANI)

New Delhi: Bharatiya Janta Party is leading in all the Lok Sabha seats of the national capital, as per the trends shown by the Election Commission on Tuesday.

The Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party fought the polls in alliance in the national capital.

From Chandni Chowk constituency, BJP candidate Praveen Khandelwal is leading with over 35,000 votes against Congress candidate Jai Prakash Agarwal.

In the East Delhi-3 constituency, BJP's Harsh Malhotra is leading by 25884 votes against AAP's Kuldeep Kumar. In the New Delhi constituency, BJP candidate Bansuri Swaraj is leading by a comfortable margin of 33465 votes against AAP's Somnath Bharti. Bansuri Swaraj is the daughter of former Union minister Sushma Swaraj.

From North-East Delhi, the incumbent BJP MP Manoj Tiwari is leading with a huge margin of 109130 against Congress candidate Kanhaiya Kumar, who is a former Jawaharlal Nehru University Student's Union president. In North West Delhi, BJP's Yogendra Chandoliya is leading with 124334 votes over Congress' Udit Raj.

In South Delhi, Ramvir Singh Bishuri of the BJP is leading with 78765 votes against AAP's Sahi Ram. In West Delhi, BJP's Kamaljeet Sehrawat is leading with 95591 votes against AAP's Mahabal Mishra.

As the counting of votes for the Lok Sabha polls is underway, the Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA crossed the majority mark in early leads and the INDIA bloc above 200, defying all exit poll predictions.

BJP is ahead in 241 seats while its broader coalition NDA is leading in 295 seats. The majority mark is 272. Meanwhile, the INDIA bloc is leading on 233 seats and others on 17 seats.

Congress is leading on 99 seats, Samajwadi Party on 35, DMK on 21 seats, Trinamool Congress on 30, Shiv Sena (Uddhav Thackeray) on 10 seats, NCP (SP) on eight seats, CPI(M) on five seats and Aam Aadmi Party on three seats.


First published: 4 June 2024, 14:36 IST