Home » National News » Lok Sabha Election 2019: Amethi, Rae Bareli to vote on May 6, Varanasi on May 19

Lok Sabha Election 2019: Amethi, Rae Bareli to vote on May 6, Varanasi on May 19

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 11 March 2019, 13:51 IST
UP Election

As the Election Commission announced the poll dates, the political party’s have started the churning to influence the voters and the most populous state with highest number of constituencies, Uttar Pradesh is again being looked upon.

Amethi, Rae Bareli and Varanasi will be up for polls on May 6 and May 19 respectively. Amethi is being represented by Congress president Rahul Gandhi whereas Rae Bareli would be contested by UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, which are considered to be the Congress bastion and the grand old party’s home turf. Although, in 2017 UP Assembly election, BJP decimated the Congress and Samajwadi Party candidates in Amethi and won the seat by a narrow margin.

Voting in Uttar Pradesh would take place in 7 phases, starting from April 11, 18, 23, 29 and May 6, 12, 19. The counting of votes is to happen on May 23 when the new government would take the charge as the current BJP-led NDA government has become care-taker.

Along with Amethi and Rae Bareli, UP’s capital Lucknow will also be up for polls which is being represented by Home Minister Rajnath Singh. Other than these, Dhaurahra, Sitapur, Mohanlalganj, Lucknow, Banda, Fatehpur, Kaushambi, Barabanki, Faizabad, Bahraich, Kaiserganj and Gonda will also be voting.

Varanasi, which is being represented by PM Narendra Modi, would be a deciding constituency as the Eastern belt of Uttar Pradesh was detrimental in BJP’s victory in 2014. Although, the party won 71 seats across the UP and decimated the SP, BSP, Congress and other regional players.

Also read: 'PM Modi surrenders to Pakistan,' says Omar Abdullah after no Assembly polls in J&K

First published: 11 March 2019, 13:51 IST