Home » National News » Akhikesh-Mayawati to contest together in Madhya Pradesh, Congress ousted

Akhikesh-Mayawati to contest together in Madhya Pradesh, Congress ousted

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 25 February 2019, 16:01 IST
Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav

Ahead of the Lok Sabha polls, the much talked about alliance of Uttar Pradesh led by SP-BSP have announced to contest together in Madhya Pradesh and Congress has been again kept out of it.

The jodi of Bua-Babua, aka Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav have announced that the Samajwadi Party would contest on three seats while BSP will be contesting on rest of the seats.

In a tweet by news agency ANI, “Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Samajwadi Party (SP) to contest Lok Sabha elections in alliance in Madhya Pradesh. SP to contest on three seats and BSP to contest on rest of the seats.”

Recently concluded state assembly election of Madhya Pradesh projected Congress as the single largest party with 114 seats and BJP, which ruled the state from last 3 terms couldn’t cross 109. It was BSP which extended its support to the Congress and Kamal Nath eventually became the chief minister.

Now, SP-BSP will be contesting together in the polls and this strategic alliance can be detrimental in resisting the Modi juggernaut.

Meanhile, Uttar Pradesh is being projected as the key to the General election which holds 80 Lok Sabha seats and BJP, along with its ally Apna Dal had won 73 and formed the government with a clear majority.

In this election, Congress has been ruled out from any alliance with SP-BSP-RLD in UP and again in Madhya Pradesh. But, as Congress launched Priyanka Gandhi Vadra into active politics and made her General Secretary in-charge of UP (East), the contest is bound to become a triangular one.

ALSO READ: Mayawati attacks PM Modi over Kumbh visit; asks ‘will shahi dip wash away your sins?’

First published: 25 February 2019, 15:58 IST