Home » National News » Gautam Buddha Nagar constituency: BJP's incumbent MP Mahesh Sharma to face SP and BSP challenge

Gautam Buddha Nagar constituency: BJP's incumbent MP Mahesh Sharma to face SP and BSP challenge

News Agencies | Updated on: 22 April 2024, 9:17 IST
BSP candidate Rajendra Singh Solanki, BJP candidate Mahesh Sharma and SP candidate Mahendra Singh Nagar

Gautam Buddha Nagar (Uttar Pradesh): The Gautam Buddha Nagar Lok Sabha seat will witness a triangular fight between the Bharatiya Janata Party, Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party.

The constituency comprises of five Vidhan Sabha constituencies--Noida, Jewar, Dadri, Sikandrabad, and Khurja. The Gautam Buddha Nagar constituency will go to polls in the second phase on April 26 along with Amroha, Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Aligarh, Mathura and Bulandshahr seats in Uttar Pradesh.

The BJP has fielded incumbent sitting MP, Mahesh Sharma for the third time in a row from the seat. He will be in the electoral fray against INDIA bloc candidate Mahendra Singh Nagar on the SP ticket while the BSP, who is fighting alone has fielded Rajendra Singh Solanki.

Gautam Buddha Nagar seat can be considered as the stronghold of the Bharatiya Janata Party as it has won in both the 2014 and 2019 elections.

In the 2019 election, BJP's Mahesh Sharma got 8,30,812 votes, Satveer from BSP got 4,93,890 while Arvind Kumar Singh who contested from Congress got 42,077 votes.

Mahesh Sharma expressed gratitude towards the party leadership for giving him the ticket from Gautam Buddh Nagar.

"I would like to thank the party leadership. They have given me a ticket for the fifth time, this shows the affection and love of the people from my constituency. The developmental work that has been done under the leadership and good governance of PM Modi and hence I would like my party leadership to believe that we will win this seat with an even bigger margin," Sharma told ANI.


First published: 22 April 2024, 9:15 IST