Home » National News » Four years of Modi government: NDA's journey from 8 states to 20 in four years of Modi-led BJP government

Four years of Modi government: NDA's journey from 8 states to 20 in four years of Modi-led BJP government

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 26 May 2018, 17:47 IST

The Narendra Modi-led Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP), has completed four years of its government in the centre. The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance has increased its electoral numbers across the country from just eight states in 2014 to 20 states in four years of PM Narendra Modi's leadership. The BJP-led NDA has also emerged as the strongest and largest political party in the country.

The NDA has now become the powerful political force in the Hindi-heartland, across North India, with only the Punjab, that is ruling under Congress leadership. In fact, BJP has expanded its leadership and hoisted its flag in North-East states of India, besides being a part of ruling in coalitions. BJP is ruling on eight states of North-East out of seven are formed by coalitions with other parties.

Well, The BJP-led NDA is now aiming to widen its electoral and social presence in the East and the Southern states of the country, where NDA is still struggling. Even the party leaders have faith on Modi's unwavering popularity will eventually help the NDA oust regional heavyweights, such as Naveen Patnaik, Mamata Banerjee from their bastions before it can increase its presence beyond the Vindhyas.

“The four years can be defined for BJP on the basis of the expansion of the party both electorally and socially. Now, the BJP is the central force in national politics. The entire opposition, whether national or regional parties, is now coming together to oppose us. This is the biggest influence of the BJP on national politics,” said a senior BJP leader, requesting anonymity.

The BJP's success in the national politics can be defined, is how it has snatched 12 states from Congress in the last four years while the NDA has had 14 electoral victories since Modi came to power. With just a year left for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the Congress is now heading to bring together all opposition parties to form an anti-BJP coalition. This coalition was witnessed in the oath ceremony of the Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy after BJP's BS Yeddyurappa stepped down from the chief ministership before facing the Floor Test.

As 2019 elections in on its way, the NDA has to face a key electoral challenge with three states— Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, this is currently ruled by the BJP going to polls later this year.

The three assembly polls will be a tough test for the Congress, which is attempting to rediscover itself ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

First published: 26 May 2018, 17:37 IST