Home » National News » Delhi Assembly Election 2020: BJP's Sunil Yadav, Congress' Romesh Sabharwal to fight against CM Kejriwal

Delhi Assembly Election 2020: BJP's Sunil Yadav, Congress' Romesh Sabharwal to fight against CM Kejriwal

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 21 January 2020, 9:33 IST
elhi Assembly Election

The opposition parties--BJP and Congress released their second candidate list for the ensuing the Delhi Assembly Polls 2020. The BJP has fielded state's Yuva Morcha President Sunil Yadav and Congress has nominated Romesh Sabharwal against the Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal from the New Delhi seats. 

Saffron party announced its list after midnight following the announcement of Siromani Akali Dal (SAD) to not contest the Delhi polls in alliance with the BJP due to its stand on the Citizenship Amendment Act.

According to the list of 10 candidates that came hours before the filing of nomination closes on Tuesday, Delhi BJP spokesperson Tajinderpal Singh Bagga has been fielded from Hari Nagar and party's Purvanchal Morcha president Manish Singh would contest from the Delhi Cantonment constituency.

The BJP announced its candidates on all four seats that traditionally went to its ally SAD in the previous Assembly elections in Delhi.

Dharamvir Singh has been fielded from Kalkaji, former East Delhi deputy mayor Sanjay Goyal from Shahdara and Ramesh Khanna from Rajouri Garden.

The list also includes the names of BJP candidates Sumanlata Shokeen, who would content from Nangloi Jat, Ravindra Chaudhary from Kasturba Nagar, Kusum Khatri from Mehrauli and Anil Goyal from Krishna Nagar.

The BJP has left three seats for its alliance partners JD(U) and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP). The JD(U) will contest from Burari and Sangam Vihar constituencies while LJP will fight from the Seemapuri seat. The polls for the 70-membered Assembly will be held on February 8 and results will be declared on February 11.

The Congress on Monday also released its second list of seven candidates who will contest the Delhi Assembly election 2020. 

CM Kejriwal will file his nomination today (Tuesday) as he failed to file his papers because of a hindrance brought about by his roadshow.

(With PTI Inputs)

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Arvind Kejriwal to file his nomination on Tuesday

First published: 21 January 2020, 9:29 IST