Home » National News » Coronavirus lockdown 4.0 begins today, all you need to know

Coronavirus lockdown 4.0 begins today, all you need to know

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 18 May 2020, 16:12 IST
Lockdown 4.0

The 4th phase of lockdown starts from today. The central government put out a notice in this respect on Sunday, stretching out the curb for two more weeks, till 31st May. However, as Prime Minister Narendra Modi had stated during his address to the nation, lockdown 4.0 will be unlike the previous ones.

The Ministry of Home Affaris in view of this issued guidelines for the fouth phase of the lockdown, giving power to the state and union territories to outline red, orange and green zones according to the coronavirus situation with due regards for parametres shared by the union health ministry.

In new guidelines, the MHA also authorized the recommencement of app-based cab srevices, allowed all shops, market and commercial establishments to function besides those in malls, and eased curbs on private offices that were earlier allowed to operate with 33% workforce.

Things you need to know about lockdown 4.0:

* All metro rail services, schools, colleges, hotels, restaurants will continue to remain closed.

* Marketplaces can open but cinema halls, shopping malls, gymnasiums, swimming pools will remain shut. But sport complexes and stadiums will be permitted to open. Spectators will not be permitted.

* Inter-state movement of passenger vehicles and buses with mutual consent of states and union territories involved.

* The zones - red, green, orange - containment zones and buffer zones will be decided by the states on the basis of parametres of ministry of health.

* In containment zones, only essential activities shall be allowed.

* All other activities will be permitted in green, orange and red zones except those specifically prohibited.

* E-commerce activities for non-essential goods are now permitted even in red zones.

* Clause for private companies to make it mandatory for employees to use ‘Aarogya Setu’ app has
been removed.

* Large congregations which includes religious, cultural, sports, political, will not be permitted.

* All religious places of worship will remain shut to the public. Religious gathering are strictly prohibited.

* People over 65 years of age, people with co-morbidity, pregnant women and children below 10 years of age to stay at home, except for essential and health purposes.

Activities that were allowed during the previous lockdown will continue to be allowed in the fourth phase as well, however, states have been given a lot of freedom to add restrictions in any area. It is important to note that above activities will not be allowed in containment zones. In containment zones, the central government guidelines only permit essential services.

List of guidelines to follow this phase of lockdown:

* Wearing face mask is compulsory in all public places.

* Spitting in public and work places will be punishable with fine according to the rules and regulations of local authorities, states or union territories.

* Social distancing in public places which includes markets, workplaces, public transport and ceremonies like marriages etc.

* Not more than 50 guests allowed for marriage functions.

* Funerals and last rites shall not be attended by more than 20 people.

* Consumption of liquor, gutka, pan masala, tobacco not allowed in public places.

* Shops to make sure minimum 6 feet distance among customers and not allow more than 5 people at a time inside the shop.

* Facilities for thermal scanning, hand wash and sanitiser to be made at all entry and exit points.

* Circulating a fake alarm or warning to as to disaster or its severity or magnitude, leading to panic, shall on conviction, be punishable with imprisonment or with fine.

* Hindrance to any officer or employee of the central government or the state government or any authorised personnel is punishable.

First published: 18 May 2020, 13:36 IST