Home » national news » BJP issues three line whip for MPs

BJP issues three line whip for MPs

News Agencies | Updated on: 2 January 2018, 10:05 IST

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on 2 January issued a three line whip for all its Lok Sabha (LS) and Rajya Sabha (RS) MPs.

The party wants all its MPs' presence in the Parliament on 2 and 3rd January for the passage of several crucial bills during the period.

The Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill 2017, seeking to criminalise instant divorce, triple talaq, which was passed in the Lok Sabha last week, is set to be tabled in the Rajya Sabha on 2 January.

Lok Sabha is also expected to pass the National Medical Commission Bill 2017 today.

A BJP parliamentary party meeting is also scheduled to take place at 9.30 a.m on 3 January.

On a related note, the winter session of Parliament ends on 5 January. 


First published: 2 January 2018, 10:05 IST