Home » National News » Biplab Kumar Deb BJP's 'Chanakya' for Tripura Assembly to be the next Chief Minister

Biplab Kumar Deb BJP's 'Chanakya' for Tripura Assembly to be the next Chief Minister

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 6 March 2018, 14:01 IST

Smashing the 25 years of communist rule, Amit Shah Led Bharatiya Janta Party is all set to haul up its flag and form government in Tripura. The State BJP chief Biplab Kumar Deb could see Biplab Kumar Deb as Tripura's Chief Minister. In 2016, Biplab was appointed as the state president of the Tripura.

Also read Tripura Assembly: The young man who defeated Left Front's 25-year government and bought Tripura to BJP

# Biplab Deb is born in Kakraban, Udaipur subdivision of Tripura, After completing his schooling, Deb shifted to Delhi for higher education.

# Deb was a gym trainer while he was in Delhi and had replaced Sudhindra Dasgupta, a longest serving state president of the party.

# Deb was a former volunteer of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) and have also campaigned in the elections to the Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council.

# Last year, in August, Deb helped bring about the defection of the Congress MLAs led by Sudip Roy Barman to the Bharatiya Janata Party. The local BJP into the 2018 Legislative Assembly election and fought from Banamalipur Constituency in Agartala, held by INC MLA Gopal Roy.

# Deb also faced CPI(M) youth leader Amol Chokroborty. Along with senior leader Sunil Depdhar, Deb hosted a door to door campaign in his constituency.

# He also started a campaign on a sensitive subject like youth employment opportunities in the state, that he promised to upgrade if elected as CM of Tripura.

# He promised all the employees of Tripura that he would pay 7th Pay Commission in the state.

First published: 3 March 2018, 15:53 IST