Home » national news » AAP releases third list of candidates for Punjab elections

AAP releases third list of candidates for Punjab elections

News Agencies | Updated on: 7 February 2017, 1:21 IST

The Aam Aadmi Party on Friday announced 29 names in its third list of candidates for the Punjab assembly polls next year.

With this the total number of candidates AAP announced for the Punjab Assembly polls reached 61. The party had announced names of 32 candidates in two previous lists.

In Friday's list there are four journalists, three doctors, a progressive farmer and two matriculates.

AAP Punjab spokesperson Sukhpal Singh Khaira will contest from Bholath, Asian games gold medalist wrestler and former Punjab Police SP Kartar Singh from Tarn Taran, ex-Congress MP Charanjit Singh Channi from Nawanshahar and Punjab Dialogue Chairman and former journalist Kanwar Sandhu from Kharar.

AAP Punjab convener Gurpreet Singh Ghuggi said the party will try to announce at least 100 names by the month-end.

Besides Sandhu, former journalists Manjit Singh will contest from Nihalsingh Wala, Kulwant Singh from Mehal Kalan and Vinod Kumar from Bhoa.

Sandhu (62) has worked with The Tribune, The Indian Express, Hindustan Times and Day and Night News Channel. The three doctors are Ranyodh Singh from Dharamkot, Charanjit Singh from Chamkaur Sahib and Amarjit Singh from Shakot.

Kartar Singh from Tarn Taran is a Padma Shri, Arjuna Awardee and has won gold medals in Bangkok and Seol Asian Games in 1978 and 1986 respectively.

Swaroop Singh from Phillaur and Hans Raj Rana from Adampur have completed their matriculation while Harjot Kaur (25) from Banga is the youngest candidate and is an MBA.

The other names in the list are: Joginder Chhina from Dina Nagar, Gurpartap Singh from Dera Baba Nanak, Jagtar Singh from Nakodar, Gulshan Sharma from Jalandhar North, Darshan Lal from Jalandhar West, Amarpal Singh from Hargobindpur, Sulkhan Singh from Mukerian, Kulbhushan Minhas from Sujanpur and Paramjit Sachdeva from Hoshairpur.

Besides, Sarvjit Kaur from Jagraon, Jagdeep Sandhu from Gidderbaha, Nazar Singh from Mansa, Parimal Singh from Bhadaur, Meet Heyar from Barnala, Jagtar Singh from Samana and Lakhbir Singh from Fatehgarh Sahib.

Meanwhile, AAP senior leader Sanjay Singh slammed BJP President Amit Shah for "questioning the patriotism" of Arvind Kejriwal.

Calling the BJP "a big factory spreading lies" he said, "Kejriwal had just demanded a befitting reply to the false propaganda by Pakistan against the Army's action. But instead of praising Kejriwal, BJP members started criticising him and started questioning his patriotism,".

AAP's Punjab co-convener Jarnail Singh alleged villagers living within 10 km from international border were facing problems as the state government had asked to them to leave their homes.

Seeking a judicial inquiry, he alleged, quoting media reports, "The state government had committed a food scam of Rs. 31,000 crore as it did not have enough food grain stock against money taken for procurement."


First published: 8 October 2016, 7:53 IST