Home » national news » AAP issues first list of 19 candidates for 2017 Punjab polls

AAP issues first list of 19 candidates for 2017 Punjab polls

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 11 February 2017, 7:52 IST

On 4 August, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) announced its candidates for the upcoming Punjab Assembly in 2017.

As speculated, senior lawyers HS Phoolkha and Himmat Singh Shergill found place in AAP's first list of candidates. Phoolkha is the AAP candidate for Dakha constituency, while Himmat Singh Shergill will contest from SAS Nagar.

Ahbaab Singh Grewal will contest for the Ludhiana West seat.

Here's the complete list of AAP's 19 candidates for the 2017 Assembly polls:

The party's screening committee of Punjab had short listed nearly 130 names, on an average five to seven from each constituency, and forwarded it to the Arvind Kejriwal-led Political Affairs Committee, the party had said in a statement.

The screening committee included AAP's national spokesperson Sanjay Singh, Faridkot MP Sadhu Singh, Sangrur MP Bhagwant Mann, Punjab convener Sucha Singh Chhotepur and national organisation building secretary Durgesh Pathak.

AAP, which won four Lok Sabha seats from Punjab while contesting its maiden General Elections in 2014, is eyeing to wrest power from the SAD-BJP alliance in the 2017 Assembly polls.

--With PTI inputs

First published: 4 August 2016, 1:42 IST