Home » india news » I-Day 2020: Not just India, these countries also celebrate Independence Day on August 15

I-Day 2020: Not just India, these countries also celebrate Independence Day on August 15

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 14 August 2020, 16:04 IST

As India celebrates its 74th Independence Day on 15th August the whole nation is busy in the preparation and are ensuring that everything is prepared according to the COVID-19 guidelines. Just like every year this year too people are looking forward to PM Narendra Modi’s speech at the Red Fort.

However, not many know that India is not the only country that celebrates Independence Day on 15th August. Yes, you read it right; 5 countries celebrate their Independence on the same day but different years. Here, check out the list:

1. South Korea and North Korea: The only common public holiday celebrated by North and South Korea is the day called 'National Liberation Day of Korea' refers to 15th August 1945 when the US and Soviet Forces ended the Japanese occupation of Korean Peninsula. The day is also called ‘Gwangbokjeol’ which means “time of the restoration of light”. Independent Korean governments were created 3 years later.

Also Read: Independence Day 2020: When Mahatama Gandhi missed Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru’s ‘Tryst with Destiny’ speech

2. Bahrain: The country declared its Independence from the British on 15th August 1971, following a UN survey of the Bahraini population. The two sides went on to sign a friendship treaty.

3. Liechtenstein: The world's sixth smallest nation marks its Independence Day on 15th August to celebrate its liberation from Germany rule in 1866. The day allows the general population to interact with the royal family.

4. Democratic Republic of Congo: The Congolese National Day is celebrated on 15th August since 1960. It was on this date that the country received complete Independence from France following 80 years of suppression.

Also Read: Independence Day 2020: How to send e-greeting cards to family, friends on historic day

First published: 14 August 2020, 16:04 IST