Home » india news » Delhi Assembly Election: Congress releases first list nominees, yet to name candidate against Kejriwal

Delhi Assembly Election: Congress releases first list nominees, yet to name candidate against Kejriwal

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 19 January 2020, 9:47 IST

Congress party on Saturday released its first list of 54 candidates for the 2020 Delhi Assembly Elections. With the first list of candidates, the Delhi Congress has fielded Former AAP MLA, who joined had left the Arvind Kejriwal party and joined Congress from the Chandini Chowk seat. Singh Lovely, Haroon Yusuf, and Alka Lamba have figured in the Congress first list.

However, Congress has not yet announced a candidate from New Delhi against CM Arvind Kejriwal and from Patparganj against the deputy CM Manish Sisodia.

While Lovely will be contesting from Gandhi Nagar, Yusuf has been nominated for the Ballimaran seat and Tirath from the Patel Nagar constituency.

Moreover, the Congress ha fielded Sitting MLA from Dwarka Adarsh Shashtri, who earlier joined the Congress after quitting the Aam Aadmi Party, has been given the ticket from the same seat. Radhika Khera has been fielded from the Janakpuri seat and Akansha Ola from Model Town.

Former MP Kirti Azad's wife, Poonam Azad has been fielded from Sangam Vihar, while Congress Delhi unit's chief Subhash Chopra's elder daughter Shivani Chopra has been nominated from Kalkaji.

Satbir Sharma has been named from Sadar Bazar and Rajesh Lilothia from Mangol Puri's seat. Ashok Kumar Walia has been nominated for Krishnagar seat, and Chaudhry Mateen Ahmed will be contesting the election from the Seelampur seat.

 The AAP has named candidates for all the 70 seats, while the BJP has nominated 57 candidates for the February 8 election.

The 70-member Delhi Assembly will go to polls on February 8 and the counting of votes will be held on Feb 11. The voting will be held at 13,750 polling stations.

The term of the current assembly will expire on February, 22.

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: BJP announces list of nominees for 57 out of 70 seats

First published: 19 January 2020, 9:47 IST