Home » Hockey News » Hockey India announces men's team for Asia Cup

Hockey India announces men's team for Asia Cup

News Agencies | Updated on: 16 September 2017, 15:26 IST

Hockey India on 16 September announced the 18-member Indian men's hockey team for the Asia Cup which takes place from 11th- 22nd October in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

The team will be captained by Manpreet Singh while S.V Sunil will shoulder the duties of vice-captain.

After giving some top junior players some good exposure in the recent Europe Tour, Hockey India named a squad with a balance of youth and experience.

Goalkeepers Akash Chikte and Suraj Karkera retain their spot in the squad whereas defenders Harmanpreet Singh and Surender Kumar make a return after being rested for the Europe Tour.

The 18-member team will also see the return of experienced hands in Sardar Singh, SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh and Satbir Singh.

"I am looking forward to working with the team which has been picked to have a good blend of experience and youth. The upcoming Hero Asia Cup 2017 will be our first tournament together, and I am very excited to see how the team expresses their leadership qualities on the field. I have previously watched the team live in Netherlands, and I feel that the energy within the team and their play is very impressive. We will be focusing on performing well as a team and will be aiming to win the tournament," expressed chief coach Sjoerd Marijne.

India feature in Pool A alongside Japan, hosts Bangladesh and Pakistan. They will start their tournament against Japan on 11 October, 2017 before facing Bangladesh on 13 October, 2017. The team will play their third and final league match of the Hero Asia Cup 2017 against Pakistan on 15 October, 2017.

Ahead of their departure for the Asia Cup, the national squad will continue their National Camp until 5 October.



1. Akash Anil Chikte

2. Suraj Karkera


3. Dipsan Tirkey

4. Kothajit Singh

5. Surender Kumar

6. Harmanpreet Singh

7. Varun Kumar


8. SK Uthappa

9. Sardar Singh

10. Manpreet Singh (Captain)

11. Chinglensana Singh

12. Sumit


13. SV Sunil (Vice Captain)

14. Akashdeep Singh

15. Ramandeep Singh

16. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay

17. Gurjant Singh

18. Satbir Singh

India will play Japan in their first match on 11 October. 


First published: 16 September 2017, 15:26 IST