Home » cricket news » Why Gautam Gambhir was the most underrated cricketer despite winning two World Cups for India

Why Gautam Gambhir was the most underrated cricketer despite winning two World Cups for India

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 5 December 2018, 16:40 IST
Gautam Gambhir

Veteran Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir announced his retirement from all forms of cricket on December 4, 2018.

The left-handed batsman captained Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevils in the Indian Premiere League and played domestic cricket for Delhi.

Gambhir made his one-day international debut for India in 2003 against Bangladesh and made his Test debut against Australia in 2004.

Gambhir was an integral member of team India and played an important part in winning both 2007 ICC T20 World Cup and 2011 ICC World Cup. Gambhir scored 75 and 97 runs respectively in the finals of both the tournament.

In 2009, Gambhir was ranked the number one ICC Test player and also recieved the ICC Test player of the year award. The 37-year-old batsman is the only Indian cricketer and one of the four in the world to score five consecutive centuries in Test cricket.

In 2008, the Government of India honoured Gambhir with Arjuna Award, India's second highest sporting award.

In October 2018 during the quater-finals of Vijay Hazare Trophy, Gambhir scored his 10,000th run in Indian domestic cricket.

Gambhir is currently busy doing commentary in the on-going series between India and Australia.

The first Test match between India and Australia will be palyed from Tomorrow in Adelaide. Virat Kohli and Tim Paine are leading their respective sides.

India and Australia will also play a three-match ODI series starting from January 12 next year in Sydney, Australia. The final match of the series will be played at Melbourne Cricket Ground on January 18.

Earlier this month, India and Australia played a T20I series that was levelled at 1-1. Australia won the first match of the series by 4 runs (DLS method), second match was abondoned due to rain and India won the third match by six wickets, where Virat Kohli played a match winning strike and made 61 runs of 41 balls.

BCCI Today announced India's 12 for the first Test against Australia. The players included are as follows: Virat Kohli (C), A Rahane (VC), KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (WK), R Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah.


First published: 5 December 2018, 16:40 IST