Home » cricket news » Virat Kohli shatters two of Rohit Sharma's milestone against South Africa

Virat Kohli shatters two of Rohit Sharma's milestone against South Africa

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 19 September 2019, 11:54 IST

In the T20I, on Wednesday, which became the first match of the three match series after the first one at Dharamsala was washed out against South Africa, Indian skipper Virat Kohli broke two records and by a twist of fate both of them belonged to his teammate Rohit Sharma.

Virat Kohli knocked an unbeaten 72 to sail India to their first T20I victory against the Proteas. The skipper surpassed Rohit Sharma as the leading run getter in T20I at Mohali. Virat Kohli began the match on 2,369 runs in 65 innings to Rohit Sharma’s 2,422 runs in 88 innings. Rohit got out LBW of Andile Phehlukwayo for just 12 runs, but Kohli remained unbeaten and sailed India to victory, getting a 7 runs lead of Rohit Sharma in the highest run scorer’s rank.


The skipper now has 2,441 runs fro 66 innings to Rohit’s 2,434 from 89 innings. In third is Martin Guptill of New Zealand with 2,283 in 75 innings. Virat Kohli also scored his 22nd fifty in T20I and went past Rohit Sharma’s total of 21 half centuries. The skipper now has most fifty plus scores in the shortest format of the game.

Virat Kohli’s innings on Wednesday included four fours and three sixes and faced 52 deliveries to stay notout on 72. His brilliant innings also made him the only player to average more than 50 in all formats. Kohli now averages 53.14 in Test, 60.31 in ODIs and 50.85 in T20Is. This is not the first instance that Kohli has attained this milestone.

During the game, Virat also took an acrobatic catch running to his left from mid-off off Navdeep Saini’s delivery in the 12th over to send Quinton de Kock back to the pavilion, who was on 52 of 37 balls. South Africa were restricted to 149/5 in stipulate 20 overs.

Chasing the score, India then went on to score 151/3 in 10 overs largely because of Kholi’s innings, the two heavyweights will mow meet in the last T20I match at Bengaluru on Sunday.

First published: 19 September 2019, 10:58 IST