Former Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) captain Virat Kohli looked in sublime form on Saturday during his 36-ball 48 against Mumbai Indians in Pune as he did not look set for a well-deserved fifty, but also ended the game for RCB.
However, Virat Kohli's, masterly innings was cut short by the unlikeliest bowler, coupled with a controversial dismissal that left Kohli completely furious as he walked back to the pavilion just two deliveries before RCB pulled off their third back-to-back win this edition.
It was in the 19th over when Dewald Brevis was brought into the attack and in his first first ball in the IPL, he managed to dismiss a legend of the tournament. It was a length delivery that slid through the middle and strike Kohli's pad in line with the stumps as he was given out LBW, but he chose to take a review of the decision.
An apparent view displayed that the ball hit the bat first, leading to a inside edge which then hit the pad. However, the third umpire felt that the ball hit the bat and the pad at the same time and since there was no conclusive proof as to what the ball hit first, the umpire did not reverse the decision leaving Kohli extremely furious.
Check out the dismissl:
my god😭 he's so angry pic.twitter.com/v0oZokSs40— // Tsitsipas thinker (@tanyadiors) April 9, 2022
After the incident, ex-cricketers gave their verdict on the controversial dismissal and former India cricketer Aakash Chopra was among the first to react as he took to Twitter to write, "In the case of ball hitting the bat and pad at the same time…it’s considered bat first. As far as I know. Let’s check the laws…"
"That was bat first. I would have given it 'not out'," reckoned former India opener Wasim Jaffer on ESPNCricinfo. Former England cricketer Nick Knight, who was present in the commentary box during the dismissal, later opined- while speaking to Star Sports that, “From the commentary box I could've easily seen that there was a inside edge in Virat Kohli's case.”
In the meantime, veteran spinner Amit Mishra reacted with a hilarious image when asked about the same by a fan on Twitter.
The dismissal had zero effect on RCB's run chase as Glenn Maxwell finished the game two deliveries later to hand Mumbai Indians' fourth straight loss in IPL 2022.