Home » cricket news » T20 World Cup: Sri Lanka include 5 more players in squad

T20 World Cup: Sri Lanka include 5 more players in squad

News Agencies | Updated on: 1 October 2021, 18:39 IST
Sri Lanka cricket team (Image: ICC)

Sri Lanka on Friday added five more cricketers to their original squad for the upcoming ICC men's T20 World Cup. The five new players included in the original squad are Lakshan Sandakan, Ramesh Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Minod Bhanuka, and Ashen Bandara.

Lahiru Madushanka, who was previously named in the squad for the T20 World Cup, will not travel with the team as he is recovering from an injury.

"Sri Lanka Cricket's Selection Committee included 05 more additional players to join the Sri Lanka squad taking part in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021," SLC said in a statement.

"Accordingly, a total of 23 players will consist of Sri Lanka's World Cup Squad. Sri Lanka Team will leave for Oman on October 3, 2021," it added.

Last week, Mahela Jayawardene was appointed as the consultant of the Sri Lankan squad for the first round of the 2021 T20 World Cup.

Jayawardena, who is the head coach of the Mumbai Indians, will join the Sri Lanka team in UAE (Bio Bubble to Bio Bubble) immediately after the completion of the ongoing Indian Premier League.

Following the two games against Oman, Sri Lanka will play in two ICC-organised World Cup warm-up games, on October 12 and 14 before commencing its T20 World Cup campaign.

Sri Lanka Squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Dhananjaya De Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrama, Maheesh Theekshana, Pathum Nissanka, Minod Bhanuka, Ashen Bandara, Lakshan Sandakan, and Ramesh Mendis.

Reserves: Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Pulina Tharanga.


First published: 1 October 2021, 18:39 IST