Home » cricket news » Shubman Gill shatters Virat Kohli's 10 year old record during Deodhar Trophy final

Shubman Gill shatters Virat Kohli's 10 year old record during Deodhar Trophy final

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 4 November 2019, 17:27 IST
Shubman Gill

Indian cricket’s hot prospect Shubman Gill, who is leading India C in the Deodhar Trophy, broke Virat Kohli’s decade old landmark as he led his side in the final of the domestic tournment. The 20 year old became the youngest known skipper to lead a team in the finals of Deodhar Trophy.

AlsoRead: Rohit Sharma outstrips Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni's T20 milestones



Indian run machine, Virat Kohli, had previously captained North Zone in the final in 2009-10 season at the age of 21.

Although it was a special moment for the youngster, Shubman Gill wasn’t able to contribute much with the bat in the clash against India B as he was out in just the second over through Mohammed Siraj’s delivery.

Indian Skipper Virat Kohli’s state mate Unmukt Chand is third on the list after he led India B at the age of 22 in the Deodhar Trophy final in 2015.

In 2009, Virat Kohli sailed his team to a comfortable win as North Zone overcame West Zone to grab the reputed trophy.

In the tournament, Shubman Gill got of to a brilliant start with an impressive knock of 143 runs against India A but could not do much with the bat in his next two matches in the domestic trophy.

During the match, Kedar Jadhav and Yashasvi Jaiswal scored half centuries to help India B put up 283/7 on the score board. Chasing 284 for the win, India C dropped 2 wickets within 18 overs of the match and needed 167 runs.

Ishan Porel was the star performer with the ball for India C, as he claimed a five wicket haul for the second time in List A cricket match.

AlsoRead: Fans flood Twitter with hilarious memes on Rishabh Pant's bad day at work, draw parallel with MS Dhoni

First published: 4 November 2019, 17:26 IST