Home » cricket news » Shardul Thakur confirmed as replacement for Bhuvneshwar Kumar for ODI series against WI

Shardul Thakur confirmed as replacement for Bhuvneshwar Kumar for ODI series against WI

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 14 December 2019, 11:45 IST
Shradul Thakur

Indian pacer Shradul Thakur on Saturday was confirmed as the replacement for Bhuvneshwar Kumar after he was ruled out of the ODI series against West Indies due to groin injury.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who a little while back made a comeback, picked up an injury during the final T20I against West Indies on 11th December that India won to seal the three match T20I series.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said Bhuvneshwar Kumar underwent a scan in which it was found that the “sportsman’s hernia symptoms have resurfaced”.

Injuries have kept Bhuvneshwar Kumar out of the Indian team for quite a few games in the last few seasons. He was ruled out during the round-robin stage of the ICC World Cup 2019 with a hamstring injury, having stood up to a back issue through most of 2018.

"The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Shardul Thakur as replacement for the injured Bhuvneshwar Kumar for the upcoming Paytm ODI series against West Indies," a BCCI statement said.

"Bhuvneshwar complained of pain in his right groin after the final T20I in Mumbai on Wednesday. He underwent an ultrasound scan conducted by a specialist and the BCCI medical team found that his sportsman's hernia symptoms have resurfaced. A specialist opinion will now be sought, and his management plan will be decided accordingly."

Shardul Thakur made his last ODI appearence in September 2018. The latter looked in good form during the Syed Mustaq Ali Trophy but scalped only one wicket in two innings for Mumbai in the recently concluded Ranji Trophy game against Baroda.

India got the better of West Indies in the T20I series and will be looking to secure another ODI series win. The first match of the ODI series will be played in Chennai on Sunday.

Also Read: Vijay Diwas 2019: When India and Pakistani cricketers played for the same team in 1971

Also Read: Three cricketers who have represented both India and Pakistan

First published: 14 December 2019, 11:45 IST