Home » cricket news » Sarfraz Ahmed to lead Pakistan across all three formats

Sarfraz Ahmed to lead Pakistan across all three formats

News Agencies | Updated on: 4 July 2017, 23:50 IST
Sarfraz Ahmed

Sarfraz Ahmed, who is currently leading Pakistan in T20I and ODI formats, will now lead the Men in Green in Tests as well.

At a reception held at the Prime Minister's residence in honour of Pakistan's Champions Trophy victory, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Shaharyar Khan announced that he had offered the role to Sarfraz, who accepted it, reports ESPNcricinfo.

Sarfraz has been rewarded with the country's Test captaincy after he led the national team to an elusive Champions Trophy title in England.

Pakistan trounced India by a record 180-run margin in the final at the Kennington Oval in London on June 18 to lift their maiden Champions Trophy title.

The wicketkeeper-batsman took over the T20I captaincy from all-rounder Shahid Afridi after the 2016 World T20 and became ODI captain when Azhar Ali resigned in February this year.

In January, it was announced that ODI captain Azhar Ali would lead the Test side following Misbah-ul-Haq's retirement as a part of "radical changes" required in the national team.

This announcement from the PCB chairman ends the long-lasting speculation over the over the identity of Misbah's successor as Test captain.

The 42-year-old, who retired at the end of Pakistan's tour of West Indies in May, was longest serving and most successful Test captain for Pakistan, leading them to 26 wins in 56 matches.

Misbah retired as Test captain after seven years in this position following the West Indies tour. He served as Test captain from late 2010 onwards going to become the most successful test captain for his country.

It would be the first time in five years that Pakistan would be led by a single man across formats.

Sarfraz's Test captaincy debut will be against Sri Lanka in the UAE, which will comprise three Tests, five ODIs and two T20Is starting October 19.


First published: 4 July 2017, 23:50 IST