Home » cricket news » Ranji Trophy Group C : Rajasthan defeat Jharkhand; Jammu & Kashmir thrash Tripura

Ranji Trophy Group C : Rajasthan defeat Jharkhand; Jammu & Kashmir thrash Tripura

News Agencies | Updated on: 24 November 2018, 12:14 IST

Leg-spinner Rahul Chahar grabbed a five-wicket haul to help Rajasthan defeat hosts Jharkhand by 92 runs in their Ranji Trophy Elite Group C match here Friday.

The win is even more special for Rajasthan as they had conceded the first-innings lead. Rajasthan have now taken 6 points and topped the group as it was their third victory in as many games.

Their fight-back was first led by Ashok Menaria who hit a stroke-filed 125 in the second innings, and then it was Chahar (5-77) against whom Jharkhand batsmen surrendered.

Courtesy Menaria's knock, Rajasthan had set a daunting target of 328. Jharkhand resumed the day at 24/0.

But Rajasthan bowlers took all 10 wickets on the final day to bring their side a memorable win. Chahar was ably supported by Nathu Singh (2-52) and T M Haq (2-63).

It was a huge task for Jharkhand, especially after their top four batsmen failed. Only Ishank Jaggi (51) showed some resistance but eventually Jharkhand were bundled out for 235.

In Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir ticked all boxes to thrash Tripura by 8 wickets. For J&K, slow-left arm orthodox bowler Waseem Raza played a key role, claiming 6 wickets in the second innings.

At Rohtak, Haryana bundled out Goa for 141 in their second essay to record an empathic 143-run victory. Right-arm medium pacer Ashish Hooda starred for Haryana as he returned with figures of 6-54.

Only the game between Services and Uttar Pradesh at Palam in the national capital ended in a draw, with UP taking the first innings-lead and three points.

Brief scores:

Ranchi: Rajasthan 100 and 379 versus Jharkhand 152 and 235 (Ishank Jaggi 51, Rahul Chahar 5-77, Nathu Singh 2-55). Rajasthan won by 92 runs. Rajasthan 6 points.

Rohtak: Haryana 276 and 185 versus Goa 177 and 141 (Suyash Prabhudessai 36, Ashish Hooda 6-54, Harsh Patel 3-40). Haryana won by 143 runs. Haryana 6 points.

Srinagar: Tripura 124 and 358 (S K Patel 112, Pratyush Singh 59, Waseem Raza 6-78) v Jammu and Kashmir 442 all out and 43/2 (Paras Sharma 23). Jammu and Kashmir won by 8 wickets. Jammu and Kashmir 6 points.

New Delhi (Palam): Services 260 and 225/2 (Ravi Chauhan 114 not out, N K Singh 86, Ankit Rajpoot 1-48) vs Uttar Pradesh 535 for 9 declared. Match drawn. Uttar Pradesh took first innings lead. Uttar Pradesh 3 points, Services 1 point.


First published: 24 November 2018, 12:14 IST