Home » cricket news » Nidahas Trophy: Bangladesh win toss, put India to bat first

Nidahas Trophy: Bangladesh win toss, put India to bat first

News Agencies | Updated on: 14 March 2018, 19:15 IST

Bangladesh won the toss and asked India to bat first in the last league stage match of the Nidahas Twenty20 tri-series at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo on Wednesday.

There is only one change in the playing XI that India fielded against Sri Lanka in the last match, with pacer Mohammad Siraj replacing Jaydev Unadkat.

For Bangladesh, fast-bowler Abu Hider has replaced for Taskin Ahmed.

After clinching back-to-back six-wicket wins against Bangladesh and Sri Lanka respectively in their last two games, India have a healthy +0.210 net run rate.

The men in blue, who began the T20I tri-series in the absence of rested skipper Virat Kohli with a five-wicket defeat against Sri Lanka, will now aim to continue their winning momentum heading into the fourth match as they bid to seal the final spot.

If India fail to clinch the victory today, the Rohit Sharma-led side's future in the series would then rely on the fixture between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh on Friday.

Going into the clash, India are bound to be cautious against Bangladesh after the latter chased down a mammoth 215 runs against Sri Lanka in their last match at the same venue on Saturday.

Bangladesh will hopefully once again depend on Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das and Mushfiqur Rahim who guided their side to a big win against Sri Lanka.

India Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Vijay Shankar, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Siraj.

Bangladesh Playing XI: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah (c), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Liton Das, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Abu Hider, Mustafizur Rahman.


First published: 14 March 2018, 19:15 IST