Home » cricket news » KKR vs DD, Match Preview - Prediction, IPL 2018: Dinesh Karthik to give a tough competition to Gautam Gambhir

KKR vs DD, Match Preview - Prediction, IPL 2018: Dinesh Karthik to give a tough competition to Gautam Gambhir

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 16 April 2018, 13:01 IST

Delhi Daredevils registered their first win against Mumbai Indians and left Mumbai pondering over their drawbacks. Mumbai Indians set a challenging total of 194 before Delhi that did not look achievable before J Roy started rocking the ground with his massive hits. Roy along with Krishan punished Mumbai bowlers adequately.

Kolkata began their IPL journey this season with a win against Royal Challengers Banglore but have since been struggling to mark another victory. Team's skipper Dinesh Karthik, hit an 8 ball 29 runs knock in the final of the Nidahas Trophy against Bangladesh. The innings looked more like an announcement, Dinesh made to the upcoming IPL. However, Dinesh Karthik has not been able to put up a performance akin to the one he put up in the final of Nidahas Trophy.

There's no denying to the fact that Kolkata Knight Riders are still struggling to get the best combination of their batsmen on the ground. The batting position of Sunil Narine has made a big impact on the batting order of Kolkata.

The thing with Sunil Narine is that he gets wasted if brought down the batting order. He is the kind of batsmen who will not just hang around on the pitch without adding a decent number of runs or waste balls. He keeps the nerves of bowlers bowling against him, high. He is a headache for the opposition's bowling order.

Going with the team strengths, both the teams are equipped with the right kind of players and have the ability to take the game away from the opposition. However, riding on the wave of the confidence that came with the win against Mumbai, Delhi may actually prove stronger against Kolkata and stand higher chances when it comes to winning the game.


Kolkata Knight Riders

Dinesh Karthik (C) (W), Piyush Chawla Tom Curran Cameron Delport Ishank Jaggi Mitchell Johnson Kuldeep Yadav Chris Lynn Prasidh Krishna Sunil Narine Nitish Rana Andre Russell Javon Searles Shivam Mavi Shubman Gill Rinku Singh Robin Uthappa Vinay Kumar Apporv Wankhade.


Delhi Daredevils

Gautam Gambhir (C), Abhishek Sharma Avesh Khan Trent Boult Dan Christian Sayan Ghosh Gurkeerat Mann Singh Shreyas Iyer Sandeep Lamichhane Manjot Kalra Glenn Maxwell Amit Mishra Mohammed Shami Chris Morris Colin Munro Shahbaz Nadeem Naman Ojha Rishabh Pant (W) Harshal Patel Liam Plunkett Jason Roy Vijay Shankar Prithvi Shaw Rahul Tewatia Jayant Yadav.


First published: 16 April 2018, 13:01 IST