Home » cricket news » IPL 2022: Sanju Samson breaks Shane Watson's long-standing record with blistering knock

IPL 2022: Sanju Samson breaks Shane Watson's long-standing record with blistering knock

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 30 March 2022, 11:56 IST
Rajasthan Royals captain Sanju Samson

Rajasthan Royals skipper Sanju Samson shattered former Australia all-rounder Shane Watson's long-standing IPL record for the Rajasthan-based franchise on Tuesday in their opening match of IPL 2022 against the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune. Samson, who scored a 25-ball half century broke Watson's record for most sixes for the RR.

Sanju Samson, who began this clash with 105 sixes under his belt, hit five sixes in a stunning display of timing and precision to go past the Australian all-rounder, who had 109 sixes to his name while playing for Royals.

The 27-year-old, who has been a part of the Rajasthan Royals system since 2013, has 110 sixes to his name currently.

Shane Watson played for the Royals till 2015 and hit 109 sixes in 74 matches. Samson, on the other hand, has thus far featured in 94 matches.

Sanju Samson and Shane Watson are the only two cricketers to have hit more than a 100 sixes for the Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League.

The third player in the pecking order is England's Jos Buttler, who has 67 sixes to his name so far in 42 matches.

Coming in to bat at No.3 Sanju Samson wasted no time to get going. He was particularly dangerous against off-spinner Washington Sundar, hitting him for three massive sixes.

Just when Samson was looking set, his outstanding innings was cut short by Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Samson was dismissed for 55 off just 27 balls scoring at a strike rate in excess of 200.

This was also the third back to back edition of the IPL in which Sanju Samson hit a 50-plus score in his first match of the tournament. In 2021, Samson had started off his IPL campaign with an excellent ton.

Also Read: Virat Kohli surpasses David Warner to enter sensational T20 batting elite list

First published: 30 March 2022, 11:56 IST