Home » cricket news » IPL 2018, MI vs KXIP: Rohit Sharma won the toss and chose to bowl first

IPL 2018, MI vs KXIP: Rohit Sharma won the toss and chose to bowl first

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 4 May 2018, 19:35 IST

Rohit Sharma won the toss and chose to bowl first.

KXIP will clash with Mumbai Indians in the Match 34 of IPL 11. Interestingly, the teams will clash for the very first time in the IPL this season.

Punjab has been away from the IPL battle for a week and as they return to the matches after a week of break they would like to gain the winning momentum they had built in the matches played so far in the IPL.

While, Punjab have registered wins in their name off the seven matches they have played. The last loss came at the hands of Sunrisers Hyderabad in one of their most recent outings.

This season has been great for Punjab as they have been on a roll. Their batsmen have been destroying all the bowling attacks with players like KL Rahul and Chris Gayle in their squad, the team has little to fear. The explosive innings of these players have instilled a fear in the opposition teams.


On the other hand, Mumbai Indians are one of the worst performers this IPL. Being the defending champions and studded with all the crucial players, they were expected of a better show than they have put up. However, Mumbai are now hanging by a thread as they could be the first match to get out of the race to playoffs.

Mumbai have a lot of key players who could have fired in the tournament but none of them have showed the grit or for that matter the consistency needed to win matches. Speaking of their bowling attack, Jasprit Bumrah's performance has been impressive, the 24-year old has an economy rate of 5.11 in the powerplay, 5.62 in the middle overs, and a very respectable 8.50 in the death overs.


Kings XI Punjab

Ravichandran Ashwin (C), Akshdeep Nath Mayank Agarwal Mayank Dagar Ben Dwarshuis Aaron Finch Chris Gayle Manzoor Dar David Miller Mujeeb Ur Rahman Karun Nair Axar Patel Lokesh Rahul (W) Ankit Rajpoot Pradeep Sahu Mohit Sharma Barinder Sran Marcus Stoinis Manoj Tiwary Andrew Tye Yuvraj Singh


Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma (C), Jasprit Bumrah Rahul Chahar Ben Cutting Akila Dananjaya JP Duminy Ishan Kishan Siddhesh Lad Evin Lewis Sharad Lumba Mayank Markande Mitchell McClenaghan Adam Milne Mohsin Khan Mustafizur Rahman MD Nidheesh Hardik Pandya Krunal Pandya Kieron Pollard Anukul Roy Pradeep Sangwan Tajinder Singh Aditya Tare (W) Saurabh Tiwary Suryakumar Yadav


First published: 4 May 2018, 19:35 IST