Home » cricket news » IPL 2019: Indian Premiere League franchise 'Delhi Daredevils' are now known as 'Delhi Capitals'

IPL 2019: Indian Premiere League franchise 'Delhi Daredevils' are now known as 'Delhi Capitals'

News Agencies | Updated on: 5 December 2018, 12:20 IST
Delhi Daredevils

The Delhi franchise of Indian Premier League (IPL) on Tuesday unveiled its new identity for the upcoming season in the world's premier T20 tournament.

After being known as the Delhi Daredevils for the past decade, the IPL team will now be called Delhi Capitals.

Reflecting on the new identity, Delhi Capitals' co-owner and chairman Parth Jindal said: "We, at JSW Sports, are proud to be associated with the capital city of India and wanted our team, our players, our fans to wear that fact with pride."

"With a new name, a new logo and a new look, Delhi Capitals' vision is to continuously entertain fans all across through high-quality performances, both on and off the field. We also want to revolutionize the way the fans connect and engage with their favourite franchise. We believe a change in identity for the club was necessary to effectively live and breathe this vision," Jindal added.

Delhi Capitals' another co-owner Kiran Kumar Grandhi said: "The new name symbolizes Delhi's identity and just like the city, we are aiming to be the centre of all action going forward. The name also represents our desire to become a dynamic organization focused on creating opportunities for social, cultural and athletic connections. Our team today is an eclectic mix of youth and experience and we are hungry to emerge victoriously. This is 'New' Delhi and we are ready to enthral audiences in the coming season of the IPL."

Meanwhile, head coach Ricky Ponting added: "I have been through a lot of ups and downs in my time as a cricketer, and have realised how important it is to sometimes take a step back and start afresh. A new ideology and approach can do wonders towards revitalising a team, renewing their energy and spirit, which will, in turn, permeate into the team's performances. Our team currently has all these in abundance and our goal is to achieve our new vision."

Delhi Capitals will compete in the twelfth season of the Indian Premier League under the leadership team of head coach Ricky Ponting, assistant coach Mohammad Kaif, bowling coach James Hopes and team captain Shreyas Iyer.

Ahead of IPL 12 auctions, Delhi Capitals traded-in Shikhar Dhawan and have retained 14 players, with an aim for a right mix of players.



First published: 5 December 2018, 12:07 IST