Home » cricket news » Indian eves aim T20I series win against Proteas

Indian eves aim T20I series win against Proteas

News Agencies | Updated on: 24 February 2018, 11:13 IST
Indian_Women_Cricket (ANI)

The Indian women cricket team will look to create history when they take on South Africa in the fifth and final T20I at the Newlands here on Saturday.

The Indian eves will be eying to win two series in a single tour to South Africa for the first time ever.

They had clinched the three-match ODI series, 2-1 recently.

India, who are currently leading the series 2-1, could have achieved the feat on Wednesday, but the fourth T20I in Centurion was washed out due to rain.

The Harmanpreet Kaur led-side have been quite efficient in the five-match T20I series.

They have clinched the first two games convincingly -- by seven and nine wickets respectively -- but a five-wicket loss in the third match kept the series alive for the hosts.

Veteran Mithali Raj has struck two half-centuries in the series before being removed on duck in the third game.

She has been well supported by her opening partner Smriti Mandhana who has figures of 28, 57 and 37 in the three matches.

Skipper Kaur was dismissed on duck in the first T20I while remained unbeaten on seven in the second match where India successfully chased a below-par target.

She played a knock of 30-ball 48 in the third T20I.

Looking at the bowling side, off-spinner Anuja Patil, who has claimed five-wickets in the T20I series so far, is the highest wicket-taker for the tourists.

Spinner Poonam Yadav and fast bowler Pooja Vastrakar have four wickets apiece.


India: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia, Nuzhat Parveen Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Radha Yadav, Rumeli Dhar.

South Africa: Dane van Niekerk (c), Marizanne Kapp, Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Odine Kirsten, Mignon du Preez, Lizelle Lee, Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Moseline Daniels.


First published: 24 February 2018, 11:13 IST