Home » cricket news » Ind vs Aus: Ravichandran Ashwin's milestone under threat, Jasprit Bumrah will look to smash it

Ind vs Aus: Ravichandran Ashwin's milestone under threat, Jasprit Bumrah will look to smash it

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 27 February 2019, 12:53 IST
Jasprit Bumrah

Indian pacer Jasprit Bumrah nearly led India to a victory in the first T20I against Australia in Visakhapatnam. India’s death over specialist was called in to deliver the 19th over and put some pressure on Australians, which he beautifully did. Jasprit claimed two wickets in the second last over and gave away just two runs.

Unfortunately India lost the game by 3 wickets as Australian tail-enders Pat Cummins and Jhye Richardson took their team to the victory lines after Umesh Yadav conceded 14 runs in the last over.

Jasprit Bumrah registered a bowling figure of 3-16 in the first T20I and took his wickets tally to 51 in the shortest format of the game. Jasprit became only second Indian to take 50-plus wickets in T20Is after Ravichandran Ashwin. Bumrah is just two wickets away from overtaking Ashwin (52 wickets) and becoming India’s highest-wicket taker in T20Is.

The average score in an innings in M.Chinnaswamy stadium is 170. The pitch there is not so spinner friendly as it comes out too flat. Batsmen find it easy to play over there as the boundaries are shorter and the pitch suits them well. It would be interesting to see how Jasprit Bumrah performs as he is not too far away in achieving a milestone.

Jasprit Bumrah has 51 wickets in 41 T20I matches and has an amazing bowling average of 19.58. Bumrah, though, is still far away from all time leading wicket-taker in T20I cricket, Shahid Afridi, who has 98 wickets under his name.

India and Australia will play their final T20I match in Bengaluru’s M. Chinnaswamy Stadium on February 27. Bumrah will have an opportunity to leapfrog R Ashwin to become India’s highest wicket-taker in T20Is.

India's probable playing 11: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma/Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (C), Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (WK), Dinesh Karthik/Vijay Shankar, Krunal Pandya, Umesh Yadav/Siddarth Kaul, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah

First published: 27 February 2019, 12:53 IST