Home » cricket news » Ind vs Aus: MS Dhoni and Kedar Jadhav takes India to an astonishing victory, India wins the 1st ODI by 6 wkts

Ind vs Aus: MS Dhoni and Kedar Jadhav takes India to an astonishing victory, India wins the 1st ODI by 6 wkts

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 2 March 2019, 21:42 IST
MS Dhoni

India wins the first ODI against Australia in Hyderabad by 6 wickets. MS Dhoni and Kedar Jadhav guides India to an astonishing victory after their 2-0 T20I series loss against Australia. Kedar Jadhav was awarded the man of the match trophy for his all-round performance.

Opener Shikhar Dhawan couldn’t do much with his bat as he was dismissed for a duck by Coulter-Nile, while his partner Rohit Sharma made 66-ball 37 before he gave away a catch to Aaron Finch off Coulter-Nile’s ball. Skipper Virat Kohli played a good innings to set the stage for India as he made 45-balls 44 before Adam Zampa dismissed him lbw. Zampa and his captain decided to take a review when on-field umpire did not rule out Kohli.

Ambati Rayudu came in and made 19-ball 13 before he gave away a catch to Alex Carey off Zampa’s ball. Kedar Jadhav and MS Dhoni made a hundred run partnership stand between them with both of them hitting amazing fifties at crucial moment. Jadhav scored 87-ball 81, while Dhoni hit 72-ball 59 to take India to a fantastic victory.

For Australia, Adam Zampa and Nathan Coulter-Nile took two wickets each while rest of the bowlers went wicket-less.

Earlier after winning the toss, Australia finished their innings at 236-7 after Indian bowlers did a fantastic job to restrict them at 4.30 runs per over. Jasprit Bumrah provided India with a breakthrough when he dismissed Aaron Finch for a duck. Australians lost 1 wicket at 0 before Usman Khawaja and Marcus Stoinis took the control and helped Australia with a steady start.

Khawaja made an amazing 76-ball 50 before Vijay Shankar took a catch off Kuldeep Yadav’s ball. Stoinis made 53-balls 37 before he was dismissed off Kedar Jadav’s ball. Peter Handscomb made 30-ball 19 before MS Dhoni’s stumping sent him back to pavilion. Glenn Maxwell and Ashton Turner was clean bowled by Mohammed Shami. Maxwell continued his good form from the T20I series as he made 51-ball 40, while Turner made 23-ball 21.

Alex Carey made 37-ball 36, while Nathan Coulter-Nile made 27-ball 28 before he was dismissed by Jasprit Bumrah. For India, Mohammed Shami had the best economy as he took two wickets in the 10 overs he bowled. Kuldeep Yadav and Jasprit Bumrah also took 2 wickets under their name, while Kedar Jadav took one wicket each and Ravindra Jadeja went wicket-less.

The second ODI will be played at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur on March 5.

First published: 2 March 2019, 21:23 IST