Home » cricket news » ICC drops Champions Trophy 2021, two back to back T20 ICC world cup in 2021-22 to take place

ICC drops Champions Trophy 2021, two back to back T20 ICC world cup in 2021-22 to take place

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 27 April 2018, 14:16 IST
ICC trophy

The International Cricket Council (ICC) decided to change the ICC Champions Trophy 2021 into the ICC T20 World Cup and with this now the tournament played in between 8 teams will end. The relevance of champions trophy always has questioned. After five days meeting of ICC, the chief of ICC Dave Richardson said that the whole members have shown their agreement on changing the champions trophy of 8 teams into T20 World Cup of 16 teams.

The interesting thing is that the T20 World Cup will be held in India, Richardson this announcement clears that BCCI representer Amitabh Chaudhary also shown his support for the changes. That means now there will be two back to back ICC T20 world cup in the year 2020 and 2021.


First Australia will host the 2020 T20 world cup and then India will host the 2021 T20 world cup. However, this is happening second time as earlier also in 2009 England host T20 world cup and then in 2010 West Indies took the tournament at their place.

Richardson said, 'The tournament champions trophy that was supposed to happen in India will now turn into the T20 world cup. This planning goes with our strategy to take forward the game.'

Also Read - IPL 2018: This bowling style of this KXIP player will make you laugh hard; Twitterati says, ‘What an incredibly c*****a bowling action’

T 20 world cup

Meanwhile, in the midst of this, there will be two world cups in 2019 and 2023 of 50 overs. 2019 World Cup will take place in England and then 2023 in world cup will also be hosted by India. All in all, India will have more chances to have cricket fever in future with a strong power.

Also Read - DD vs KKR, IPL 2018: Shreyas Iyer will try to start his IPL captaincy by winning first match against Dinesh Karthik's riders

First published: 27 April 2018, 14:16 IST