Home » cricket news » Gayle-storm in BBL! Jamaican marauder equals record for fastest T20 fifty

Gayle-storm in BBL! Jamaican marauder equals record for fastest T20 fifty

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 14 February 2017, 5:26 IST

Following a controversial interview, Chris Gayle is back in the news with a blistering knock for the Melbourne Renegades during their Big Bash League (BBL) encounter against Adelaide Strikers at the Etihad stadium on 18 January.

Also read: Five fastest fifties in T20 Internationals history

The Jamaican marauder notched up his fifty in a mere 12 deliveries, equalling the world record for the fastest half-century in T20 history. The West Indies opener has now equalled the record set by India's Yuvraj Singh against England during the 2007 World T20.

While chasing an imposing total of 170/5 set by Adelaide Strikers, the Renegades lost three quick wickets with the likes of Tom Cooper, Cameron White and Dwayne Bravo back in the hut. However, that didn't deter their explosive opener from doing what he does best.

With the opposition bowlers being thrashed all around the park, Gayle's ball-by-ball description - 2, 0, 6, 6, 6, 6, 2, 6, 6, 4, 1, 6 - to reach his fifty explains the nightmare for the Adelaide Strikers. He was eventually dismissed for 56 runs from 17 deliveries by Travis Head as the Renegades fell short by 27 runs in their chase.

Gayle, who smashed seven sixes and two fours, also broke the previous record for the fastest BBL fifty that was jointly held by Tim Ludeman and Chris Lynn - who took 18 deliveries to achieve the feat.

The West Indies star also holds the record for the fastest century in T20 history, notching up a hundred from an incredible 30 deliveries for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors during the 2013 Indian Premier League.

Earlier this month, New Zealand's Colin Munro had also entered the record books following his 14-ball fifty against Sri Lanka during the 2nd T20 International in Auckland. Munro's fifty, comprised of seven sixes and one four, is the second fastest half-century in international cricket.

First published: 18 January 2016, 6:52 IST