Home » cricket news » Gautam Gambhir's coach Sanjay Bharadwaj receives Dronacharya Award; here's how the MP congratulated him

Gautam Gambhir's coach Sanjay Bharadwaj receives Dronacharya Award; here's how the MP congratulated him

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 30 August 2019, 15:39 IST

Former Indian cricketer turned politician Gautam Gambhir on Friday commended his mentor Sanjay Bharadwaj for receiving Dronacharya Award.

"I'm very happy that my coach, the man who moulded me to become the person I am today & who I dedicate all my achievements too, Shri Sanjay Bharadwaj ji, has been honoured with the Dronacharya Award. It's been a privilege to have learnt so much from you. Congratulations sir," Gambhir wrote on Twitter.

President Ram Nath Kovind on Thursday bestowed the national sports and adventure on sportspersons in a ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhawan on National Sports Day.

Dronacharya award was presented to Vimal Kumar for Badminton and Sandeep Gupta for Table Tennis in regular category. While, in the life-time catagory, Merzban Patel (Hockey), Rambir Singh Khokhar (Kabaddi) and Sanjay Bharadwaj (Cricket) were awarded.

Para-athlete Deepa Malik was honoured with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Raatna award, the highest sports honour in India.

Fourteen sportspersons were also awarded with the Arjuna Award, in the event. They were S Bhaskaran (Body Building), Sonia Lather (Boxing), Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (Hockey), Ajay Thakur (Kabaddi), Gaurav Singh Gill (Motor Sports), Pramod Bhagat (Para Sports, Badminton), Harmeet Rajul Desai (Table Tennis), Pooja Dhanda (Wrestling), Fouaad Mirza (Equestrian), Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (Football), Poonam Yadav (Cricket), Swapna Barman (Athletics), Bhamidipati Sai Praneeth (Badminton), and Simran Singh Shergill (Polo).




Dhyan Chand Award 2019 was bestowed upon Manuel Fredricks (Hockey), Arup Basak (Table Tennis), Manoj Kumar (Wrestling), Nitten Kirrtane (Tennis), and C Lalremsanga (Archery).

Aparna Kumar (Land Adventure) and Late Shri Dipankar Ghosh (Award received by his family member) (Land Adventure), Manikandan K. (Land Adventure), Prabhat Raju Koli (Water Adventure), RameshwerJangra (Air Adventure), and Wangchuk Sherpa (Life Time Achievement) were awarded with Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards.

First published: 30 August 2019, 14:16 IST