Home » cricket news » Delhi's Feroz Shah Kotla stadium to be renamed after Arun Jaitley, Virat Kohli gets a stand

Delhi's Feroz Shah Kotla stadium to be renamed after Arun Jaitley, Virat Kohli gets a stand

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 27 August 2019, 17:16 IST
Arun Jaitley-Virat Kohli

The Delhi District Cricket Association (DDCA) has announced that they will rename Delhi’s Feroze Shah Kotla stadium after the deceased BJP leader and former DDCA president Arun Jaitley. The renaming of the stadium will take place on September 12 with BJP president and union home minister Amit Shah as the chief guest of the ceremony.

A stand in the stadium will be named after Indian skipper Virat Kohli is currently busy leading his side against West Indies in the Caribbean.

The DDCA issued a press release on August 27 where they confirmed the news. Arun Jaitley who was the president of DDCA from 1999 to 2013 died on August 24, weeks after he was admitted in All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS). 

Speaking on this initiative, DDCA president Rajat Sharma said: “What can be better to have the stadium named after the man who rebuilt it under his presidentship. It was Arun Jaitley’s support and encouragement that players like Virat Kohli, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Ashish Nehra, Rishabh Pant and many others could make India proud.”

“Mr Jaitley, during his tenure at the Kotla, is credited with renovating this stadium into a modern infrastructure, increasing its capacity to help more fans get an opportunity to watch their favourite cricketers in action besides constructing world-class dressing rooms and other cricketing facilities,” DDCA press release read.

The function, to be held at the Weightlifting Auditorium, Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, will be graced by the presence of Union Home Minister Amit Shah, the chief guest, and Minister of State for Youth Affairs and Sports Kiren Rijiju, the guest of honour.

Also read: Anushka Sharma joins Virat Kohli, KL Rahul and R Ashwin for Yacht party

First published: 27 August 2019, 17:16 IST