Home » cricket news » BCCI announce India's Test squad for South Africa series

BCCI announce India's Test squad for South Africa series

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 12 September 2019, 17:51 IST

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the Test squad for the three match Test series against South Africa.

After a poor display in the Caribbean, KL Rahul has been dropped from the team and the selection committee have inducted Shubman Gill in the team. India are currently on top of the pile in the World Test Championship points table.


"We want to give Rohit Sharma an opportunity to open the innings in Tests," Chairman of selectors MSK Prasad was quoted as saying by PTI.

Veteran pacer Umesh Yadav who was in the squad during the West Indies tour has also been dropped.


Rohit Sharma will captain the practice match against the South Africans in Vizaianagaram, starting September 26th.

Youngster Shubman Gill’s was on the cards after he became the highest scores for India A against the West Indies in the recently concluded series.


India's squad for 3 Tests: Virat Kohli (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk),Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill.

First published: 12 September 2019, 17:51 IST