Home » cricket news » Australian players surprisingly ignored from women's IPL tournament

Australian players surprisingly ignored from women's IPL tournament

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 26 April 2019, 10:32 IST
Women's IPL

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) revealed the three squads that will take part in a four-match women’s IPL. The series will be held at Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur, Rajasthan from May 6 to May 11. India’s best cricketers and future stars will be joined by players from New Zealand, England, West Indies, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

Surprisingly, Australian cricket players are ignored from the tournament as no one has been selected for the tri-series. Last year a one-off women’s IPL was played as a curtain raiser and Australia fielded the most number of foreign players, Ellyse Perry, Alyssa Healy, Meg Lanning, Megan Schutt and Beth Mooney all making the trip.

Last month Cricket Australia's female high performance manager Shawn Flegler said that the governing body will be supportive of female Australian players taking part in the IPL exhibition matches.

The teams for this year’s women’s IPL are Supernova, Trailblazers and Velocity. Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Mithali Raj will be leading the respective sides.

Supernova: Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Anuja Patil, Arundhati Reddy, Chamari Athapaththu, Jemimah Rodrigues, Lea Tahuhu, Mansi Joshi, Natalie Sciver, Poonam Yadav, Priya Punia, Radha Yadav, Sophie Devine, Taniya Bhatia (WK) – WV Raman (Coach)

Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana (C), Bharti Fulmali, Dayalan Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Harleen Deol, Jasia Akhtar, Jhulan Goswami, R Kalpana (WK) Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shakera Selman, Sophie Ecclestone, Stafanie Taylor, Suzie Bates – Biju George (Coach)

Velocity: Mithali Raj (C), Amelia Kerr, Danielle Wyatt, Devika Vaidya, Ekta Bisht, Hayley Matthews, Jahanara Alam, Komal Zhanzad, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sushma Verma (WK), Sushree Dibyadarshini, Veda Krishnamurthy – Mamta Maben (Coach)

Also read: Ajinkya Rahane will travel to England in June this year but not with the World Cup team

First published: 26 April 2019, 10:32 IST