Home » cricket news » Australia announces World Cup squad, Aaron Finch to lead the side; Know about Smith and Warner

Australia announces World Cup squad, Aaron Finch to lead the side; Know about Smith and Warner

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 15 April 2019, 9:00 IST

Cricket Australia announced their 2019 World Cup team. Stand-in skipper Aaron Finch will lead the 15-member squad despite Steve Smith returning to the side. Pat Cummins is named as the vice-captain of the side. David Warner is also in the team after facing one-year suspension for ball-tampering controversy.

Australia won two back to back bilateral ODI series under Aaron’s captaincy. Australia defeated India by 3-2 in a five match ODI series away from home, coming back from 2-0 down they went on to win three consecutive matches. Australia whitewashed Pakistan by 5-0 in an ODI series in UAE held in March this year.

Aaron is currently averaging 112.75 in one-day internationals as he scored two centuries and two half-centuries in the recently concluded ODI series against Pakistan in UAE.


Australia included five pacers and only one wicket-keeper in their World Cup squad. Cricket pundits are saying that they should have included one more wicket-keeper in place of a pacer. If Alex Carey faces injury in the tournament it will be hard for Australia to do something at last moment. Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, Pat Cummins and Nathan Coulter-Nile are the five pacers.

Australia will play one two spinner, Adam Zampa and Nathan Lyon, while playing two all-rounders, Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis.

Australia World Cup Squad: Aaron Finch (C), Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Steve Smith, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey(WK), Pat Cummins (VC), Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa

Also read: Meet MS Dhoni's six year-old fan Riyan Parag who is now his rival in IPL

First published: 15 April 2019, 9:00 IST