Home » cricket news » After spate of bad decisions ICC decides to reshuffle umpires for Ashes Test

After spate of bad decisions ICC decides to reshuffle umpires for Ashes Test

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 31 August 2019, 17:11 IST

Marais Erasmus and Ruchira Palliyaguruge will come togeather with Kumara Dharmasena as the performing umpires for the fourth and the fifth Test of the Ashes series.

Kumara Dharmasena was previously installed as the TV umpire for the fourth Test but will now take the field alongside Marais Erasmus in both the remaining fixtures, with Ruchira Palliyaguruge performing as the TV umpire in both matches.



The fourth Ashes Test will commence from 4th September at the Old Trafford cricket stadium while the fifth Test will begin from September 12th at the Oval.

Some of the umpiring decisions during the first three matches of the Ashes series came under scanner with former cricketers lambasting the happening and also pitching for quality umpires over neutral ones.



Currently, the series is tied at 1-1, with Australia winning the first Test by 251 runs at Edgbaston in which Aleem Dar and Joel Wilson were officiating as on-field umpires, while, on the other hand the second Ashes Test, which concluded in a tie at Lord’s, had Chris Gaffaney and Dar as the officials. England came back strong and squared things up by winning the third Test by one wicket at Headingleys and had Wilson and Gaffaney as the officials.


First published: 31 August 2019, 17:08 IST