Home » Tennis News » US Open 2015: Federer, Murray advance to 3rd round; Wozniacki crashes out

US Open 2015: Federer, Murray advance to 3rd round; Wozniacki crashes out

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 13 February 2017, 4:10 IST

World no 2 Roger Federer continued his dominant performance at Flushing Meadows, as he swept aside his Belgian opponent Steve Darcis in straight sets to advance to the third round of the US Open on Thursday, 3 September.

The Swiss maestro overcame Darcis 6-1,6-2,6-1 in a second round match that lasted one hour and 20 minutes.

The 17-time Grand Slam champion will now face Germany's Philipp Kohlschreiber, who defeated Lukas Rosol 7-6(7-4),6-2,6-2.

Federer's Scottish rival Andy Murray also progressed to the third round of the US Open after battling past Adrian Mannarino earlier in the day.

Murray recovered from a two-set deficit as he overcame his French opponent 5-7, 4-6, 6-1, 6-3, 6-1 in three hours and 17 minutes.

28-year-old Murray will now lock horns with Brazilian Thomaz Bellucci, who clinched 6-0 6-3 6-4 win over Japan's Yoshihito Nishioka.

Meanwhile, fifth-seeded Stan Wawrinka also advanced to the next round by beating his South Korean opponent Chung Hyeon 7-6 (7-2), 7-6 (7-4), 7-6 (8-6).

In the women's singles category, Caroline Wozniacki crashed out of the tournament with a 4-6, 7-5, 6-7 defeat at the hands of unseeded Czech player Petra Cetkovska.

Petra Kvitova eased into the next round with a 6-3, 6-4 victory over Nicole Gibbs of USA, while second seed Simona Halep beat Ukraine's Kateryna Bondarenko 6-3, 6-4.

Indian tennis ace Sania Mirza, on the other hand, started her US Open campaign on a winning note as she, along with her partner Martina Hingis, eased into the second round of the women's doubles.

The top-seeded Indo-Swiss pair overcame Kaitlyn Christian-Sabrina Santamaria in straight sets 6-1, 6-2 in the first round that lasted just 57 minutes.

In another match involving an Indian player, Leander Paes and Fernando Verdasco claimed a 6-2, 6-3 win over German duo Florian Mayer and Frank Moser to reach the next round.

(With inputs from ANI)

First published: 4 September 2015, 11:40 IST