Home » National News » PM Modi tweets to boost poll turnout; tags Rahul Gandhi, Virat, Akshay and others

PM Modi tweets to boost poll turnout; tags Rahul Gandhi, Virat, Akshay and others

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 13 March 2019, 14:30 IST

A month ahead of the Lok Sabha elections 2019, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has urged people to turnout and to cast maximum votes to make general elections 2019 witness the highest ever turnout in the history of Indian elections. PM Modi took to Twitter and tagged wide spectrum of politicians, sportsmen, journalists and filmstars -- from Rahul Gandhi and Mamata Banerjee to Virat Kohli, Ranveer Singh and Vicky Kaushal, Akshay Kumar, Bhumi Pednekar and many others.

“Dear @akshaykumar, @bhumipednekar and @ayushmannk, The power of a vote is immense and we all need to improve awareness on its importance. Thoda Dum Lagaiye aur Voting ko Ek Superhit Katha banaiye,” PM Modi tweeted on Wednesday morning.

"Many youngsters admire you. It is time to tell them: Apna Time Aa Gaya Hai and that it is time to turn up with high Josh to a voting centre near you," he tweeted tagging Ranveer Singh and Vicky Kaushal, who have recently given their blockbuster movies "Gully Boy" and "Uri" respectively.

"A vote is a great way to make the people's voice heard," he tweeted legendary singer Lata Mangeshkar and composer AR Rahman.

Tweeting Deepika Padukone, Alia Bhatt and Anushka Sharma, PM Modi urged them to ensure maximum people turnout to vote in large numbers for the coming elections. “As renowned film personalities whose work is admired by many, I am sure their message will have a positive impact on our citizens,” he tweeted.

Other than Bollywood celebs and artists, PM Modi went ahead and also tagged his bitter opponents---- Mahagathbandhan---Rahul Gandhi, Mamata Banerjee, Sharad Pawar, Mayawati, Akhilesh Yadav, Tejashwi Yadav and MK Stalin.

Tweeting them PM Modi said, he appealed to them to "encourage increased voter participation in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls. A high turnout augurs well for our democratic fabric."

PM Modi further tagged, Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy and YSR Congress leader Jagan Mohan Reddy. He also urged them to "work towards bringing maximum Indians to the polling booths in the upcoming elections. May voter awareness efforts be strengthened across the length and breadth of India."

Former cricketers were also tagged. "Come, it is time to inspire people once again, this time to vote in record numbers," PM Modi tweeted Anil Kumble, VVS Laxman and Virendra Sehwag.

Also read: Rahul Gandhi might go to jail! Case filed against Congress chief over his ‘Masood Azhar ji’ remark

First published: 13 March 2019, 13:18 IST