Home » National News » PM Modi cast his vote in Ahmedabad: Voter ID more powerful than IED

PM Modi cast his vote in Ahmedabad: Voter ID more powerful than IED

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 23 April 2019, 10:46 IST

After taking blessings from his mother Prime Minister Narendra Modi cast his vote in Ahmedabad. After casting his vote, PM Narendra Modi, who was accompanied by BJP president Amit Shah said that our Voter ID is more powerful than terrorists IED.

“The weapon of terrorism is IED, the strength of democracy is voter ID. I can say with surety that the voter ID is much much more powerful than an IED, so we should understand the strength of our voter IDs,” PM Modi said in Gujarat's Ahmedabad, where he held a mini-roadshow in an open jeep, walked down the streets with his party candidate.

After casting his vote, the Prime Minister displayed his inked finger and walked on the streets, with Hasmukhbhai Somabhai Patel, a party candidate in Ahmedabad East along with BJP flags and banners lining the streets.

While addressing media Modi said, “Today third phase of polling is underway, I am fortunate that I also got the opportunity to fulfil my duty in my home state of Gujarat. Like you feel pure after a holy dip in Kumbh, one feels pure after casting vote in this festival of democracy.”

Today, the phase 3 polling has begun for 116 Lok Sabha seats, including all constituencies in Gujarat and Kerala, with BJP president Amit Shah, Congress chief Rahul Gandhi and several Union ministers among prominent candidates in the fray.

Among other prominent candidates in this phase are Union ministers Alphons Kannamthanam (Ernakulam-Kerala), Jaswantsinh Bhabhor (Dahod-Gujarat) and Shripad Naik (North Goa), Samajwadi Party founder Mulayam Singh Yadav (Mainpuri-Uttar Pradesh), Congress MP Shashi Tharoor and former Governor and BJP nominee Kummanam Rajasekharan (Thiruvananthapuram-Kerala), and AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal (Dhubri-Assam).


Also read: Navjot Singh Sidhu banned for 72 hours from poll campaigning by EC for violating poll code

First published: 23 April 2019, 9:29 IST