Home » National News » Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 LIVE Updates: PM Modi says, 'If someone has won, it's Hindustan that has won'

Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 LIVE Updates: PM Modi says, 'If someone has won, it's Hindustan that has won'

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 24 May 2019, 8:42 IST

Rather Prime Minister Narendra Modi will make a comeback for a second term will be decided today. The 38-day polling process of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 concluded and the results are to be declared today. Fate of 8,040 candidates to be decided. The counting of votes began at 8 a.m and the early trends shows massive leads of BJP-led NDA.

Several exit polls predicted a clean sweep victory of BJP-led NDA while Congress seems to struggle. The exit polls showed the failure of SP-BSP alliance from defeating BJP in Uttar Pradesh and also BJP marks its presence in West Bengal-- a home turf of Mamata Banerjee-led TMC.

Stay tuned at CatchNews to get all the latest LIVE updates on the counting of votes and the Lok Sabha Election Results 2019:

8.10: AM: BJP won 293 seats, having 10 seats in lead. Congress ends up with 52 seats.

8.00: PM: NDA is leading with 350 seats having BJP with 302 seats, while UPA is leading with 92 seats having Congress 51 seats. Others are leading with 100 seats

7:30: PM: PM Modi tweets 'Thank You India!'

7:05: PM: PM Modi thanks Varanasi says, 'I bow to the citizens of Kashi. Looking forward to serving them.'

6:10: PM: PM Modi drops 'Chowkidar' from social media account name, asks everyone to drop it as game is over. 

6.00: PM: Rahul Gandhi offers resignation to Sonia Gandhi, says sources. 

5.48: PM: Rahul Gandhi holds a press conference on the results, congratulated Narendra Modi, BJP and also took the responsibility of the defeat.

4:15: PM: Lal Krishna Advani congratulated Narendra Modi, Amit Shah, said all the dedicated workers of the party have put in enormous effort in making sure that the message of BJP reaches every voter of the country

2:30: PM Narendra Modi tweeted, "Together we grow. Together we prosper. Together we will build a strong and inclusive India. India wins yet again! #VijayiBharat"

11: 20: Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia trailing from Guna in Madhya Pradesh

11: 15 IST: Union Ministers Manoj Sinha and Maneka Gandhi trailing from Ghazipur and Sultanpur respectively

11: 10 IST: Prime Minister Narendra Modi's mother Heeraben Modi greets the media outside her residence in Gandhinagar.

10:55 IST: BJP President Amit Shah leading by over 125000 votes from Gujarat's Gandhinagar

10: 50 IST: National Conference leading from Anantnag, Mehbooba Mufti at third place currently 

10: 45 IST: Sensex booms by more than 600 points as early trends show a return to power of NDA Government; Sensex currently at 40,015.49

10:55 IST: BJP leading on 295 seats, Congress leading on 51 seats 

10:40 IST: BJP-Shiv Sena leading on all six seats of Mumbai

10: 24 IST: Independent candidate Sumanlatha Ambareesh leading by over 1200 votes from Mandya over Karnataka CM & JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy's son Nikhil Kumaraswamy

10:15 IST: Congress leader Manvendra Singh trailing from Barmer, Union Minister Rajvardhan Rathore leading from Jaipur Rural

09:55 IST: TMC's Abhishek Banerjee leading from Diamond Harbour 

09:50 IST: BJP's Ravi Shankar Prasad leading over Congress's Shatrughan Sinha from Patna Sahib

09:40 IST: BJP leading on Chandni Chowk, North West Delhi, South Delhi and West Delhi parliamentary seats out of 7 seats

09:25 IST: BJP leading on 229 seats, Congress leading on 56 seats

09:15 IST: BJP candidate and Union Minister Maneka Gandhi trailing from Sultanpur, Sonia Gandhi leading from Rae Bareli. Varun Gandhi leading from Pilibhit

09:02 IST: BJP candidate and Union Minister Maneka Gandhi trailing from Sultanpur, Sonia Gandhi leading from Rae Bareli. Varun Gandhi leading from Pilibhit

08: 50 IST: Prime Minister Narendra Modi lead from Varanasi

PM Narendra Modi leading by over 20,000 votes from UP's Varanas; Congress's Ajay Rai behind

08:40 IST: Smriti Irani leaves Rahul Gandhi behind in Amethi

Smriti Irani is leading with 2000 votes. Rahul Gandhi, who is fighting for his fourth term, is seen trailing in early trends.

08:35 IST: Amit Shah leading in Advani's constituency

BJP chief Amit Shah is ahead from Gujarat's Gandhinagar constituency. He has replaced BJP's founding member LK Adavani. Amit Shah leading by over 50,000 votes from Gujarat's Gandhinagar.

08:27 IST: Early trends show NDA leading in Rajasthan and Karnataka, Gujarat

08: 10 IST: Visuals from inside a counting centre in Chandigarh; Congress's Pawan Kumar Bansal, BJP's Kirron Kher and AAP's Harmohan Dhawan are contesting from the Lok Sabha seat.

8:00 IST: Counting of votes begins for 542 Lok Sabha seats

7: 30 IST: Ajay Maken, Congress candidate from New Delhi LS seat, contesting against BJP MP Meenakashi Lekhi: The results will be definitely in favour of Congress. We're expecting that Congress will win &form govt. Rahul Gandhi will be the PM. The fight in Delhi is between BJP and Congress.

7:14 IST: BJP candidate from Bengaluru South constituency, Tejasvi Surya: I am sure we will win. I am confident I will be able to contribute to legislation and policy making in this country.

7:10 IST: Visuals from a counting centre in Bhopal

7:00 IST: Counting of votes to begin at 8 am

At the national election, the main battle for the throne is between NDA (National Democratic Alliance)-led by Bharatiya Janata Party and the United Progressive Alliance (UPA), led by Congress president Rahul Gandhi.

The saffron party is also in a war zone with the Gathbandhan of Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav’s SP-BSP in Uttar Pradesh and Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress in West Bengal.

Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP, MK Stalin’s DMK, Deve Gowda’s JD(S) Left Parties, Chandrababu Naidu’s TDP, Sharad Pawar’s NCP, are among others in 22 Opposition parties demanded 100% matching of VVPAT slips with EVM during votes counting.

From ‘Ayega to Modi hi’ to ‘Congress Mukti Bharat,’ from Gandhi to Godse, 17th Lok Sabha Elections has witnessed a high voltage drama, along with violence and protest during polling in several booths. However, after a long wait, India is all set to get its Prime Minister.

First published: 23 May 2019, 8:23 IST