Home » National News » Big jolt for BJP as two ministers and six MLAs join NPP in Arunachal Pradesh

Big jolt for BJP as two ministers and six MLAs join NPP in Arunachal Pradesh

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 20 March 2019, 10:52 IST
BJP lawmakers join NPP

In a major setback for the ruling BJP, two siting ministers and six BJP lawmakers have resigned from the party and have joined the National People’s Party.

This development has come just ahead of the Lok Sabha polls and the Assembly election scheduled to begin from April 11. The general secretary of the NPP, Thomas Sangma, has welcomed the politicians and said that ‘BJPs’ ideology is not right.’

Sangma said, “I'm delighted to welcome 8 sitting Minister and MLAs to our party. National People's Party will not form alliance with anyone. BJP's ideology is not right. It is not a secular party.”

Since last week, there have been around 25 leaders across the Northeast who have resigned from the BJP, and either have joined the NPP or the Congress. On Tuesday, Tripura BJP vice president Subal Bhowmick resigned from the party and joined the Congress.

K Waii, Home Minister of Arunachal Pradesh, said after joining the NPP, “If BJP was the right party, I'd have been working for it. BJP says that for them country is first, party second & person third but they are doing dynasty politics. This is a secular state but BJP is an anti-religion party.”

For the Assembly election, Thomas Sangma has charted out his plan and said, “The NPP would now try to field candidates for at least 30-40 seats in the 60-member assembly. We will form our own government if we win in the seats.”

The recent flocking away of leaders and ministers across the political spectrum from the BJP could heart the prospects and plans of Amit Shah, who has been planning for a 20+ in the 24 seats in the entire Northeast.

Also read: Resort Politics Returns: Goa BJP MLAs moved to 5-star hotel ahead of floor test today

First published: 20 March 2019, 10:51 IST