Home » ipl-news » IPL 2016: Delhi Daredevils thrash Kings XI Punjab by 8 wickets

IPL 2016: Delhi Daredevils thrash Kings XI Punjab by 8 wickets

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 10 February 2017, 1:50 IST

Delhi Daredevils registered their first win of their IPL 2016 campaign on Friday, 15 April, after handing rivals Kings XI Punjab an 8-wicket thrashing at the capital's Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium.

After winning the toss and electing to bowl first, Delhi Daredevils began well, as Murali Vijay departed for 1 run following a run-out.

Shaun Marsh and Manan Vohra managed to string together a 29-run partnership following the first wicket, but after Marsh's dismissal for an individual score of 13 runs, the Kings XI batting line-up suffered a collapse.

Amit Mishra picked up 4 wickets, while Zaheer Khan, Chris Morris and Jayant Yadav picked one wicket each, as the hosts restricted Kings XI Punjab to a paltry score of 111 for the loss of 9 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs.

In response, Delhi Daredevils lost opener Shreyas Iyer for just 3 runs, but a 91-run partnership between Quinton de Kock and Sanju Samson helped them keep the match out of the visitors' grasp.

Sanju Samson departed for 33 runs, while De Kock stayed unbeaten at 59. Meanwhile, coming in at no 4 in the batting line-up, Pawan Negi finished things off in style when he hit a six off a Pardeep Sahu delivery to ensure an eight-wicket victory for the home side.

First published: 15 April 2016, 11:53 IST