Home » Education News » National Education Policy recommendation report submited to MHRD

National Education Policy recommendation report submited to MHRD

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 10 February 2017, 1:49 IST

The Committee for the evolution of a National Education Policy has submitted the report containing its recommendations to the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD).

Sources say that the primary focus on this New Education policy will be on value education and improving current examination structure at various levels.

According to the MHRD, the Committee has examined the large body of outcome documents, recommendations and suggestions received from the various consultations. The committee also conducted several meetings with various stakeholders and held regional consultations as well as undertaken field visits to educational institutions.

The draft policy will now be presented to Minister Smriti Irani for approval.

"The Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), Government of India had undertaken a consultation process for framing a New Education Policy (NEP). The process included online, grassroots and national level thematic deliberations on 33 themes. The online consultations on www.MyGov.in portal were held from 26 th January, 2015 to 31 st October, 2015 and over 29,000 suggestions were received. The bottom-up consultative process across nearly all Gram Panchayats, Blocks, Urban Local Bodies and districts of all 36 States/Union Territories was undertaken between May to October, 2015. Thematic consultations were conducted both by the Ministry and also by the institutions like University Grants Commission, All India Council for Technical Education, National Council for Teacher Education, National Council for Educational Research and Training and several centrally funded universities and institutions, autonomous bodies, attached offices," stated a release from HRD Ministry.

Six zonal meetings have been held by MHRD in Eastern, Central, North-Eastern, Western, Southern, and Northern Zones covering all states and Union Territories in September-October 2015.

The Committee for Evolution of the New Education Policy, constituted by the Centre, comprised T.S.R. Subramanian, former Cabinet Secretary as the Chairman and Shailaja Chandra, former Chief Secretary, NCT of Delhi, Sevaram Sharma, former Home Secretary, NCT of Delhi, Sudhir Mankad, former Chief Secretary, Gujarat and Prof. J.S. Rajput, former Director, NCERT as members of the Committee.

Also Read: Beware! Here are India's 22 fake universities

First published: 27 May 2016, 1:40 IST