Home » cricket news » IPL 2018, CSK v SRH: Table toppers have a bad record in winning the IPL titles, Will SRH be able to change their fate?

IPL 2018, CSK v SRH: Table toppers have a bad record in winning the IPL titles, Will SRH be able to change their fate?

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 22 May 2018, 18:33 IST

CSK won the toss and chose to bowl first.

The group stages of the IPL 11 are over and the playoffs are on. With four teams already eliminated, RR, CSK, KKR and SRH have made it to the playoffs and CSK are going to clash with SRH in the first playoff to be played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Both the teams are tough contenders for the title this season being at the top two positions of the points table.

SRH dominated the tournament from the very start and were the first side to make it to the playoffs. However, they seem to have lost the heat in their last few matches. They have lost 3 of their last matches consecutively and will be entering this deciding stage with 3 defeats. IPL is a tournament where momentum is a significant factor. Their bowling, being arguably the best in the IPL this season has been struggling in their last matches.

They have conceded more than 170 runs in all their last matches with an economy rate of 9.64. This is in stark contrast to their performances in the initial matches.

CSK have been a dominating side this season as well just like all the other seasons. They started winning their matches with small differences but later improved and completely dominated the opposition sides. Under the commands of MS Dhoni, the CSK have been performing like a fine-tuned engine perform really well.

The CSK's batsmen have been performing explosively and with consistent they have made a mark this season. Ambati Rayudu occupies fourth place with an aggregate of 586 runs, while MS Dhoni and Shane Watson are ninth and tenth respectively with aggregates of 446 runs & 438 runs.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Kane Williamson (C), Tanmay Agarwal Khaleel Ahmed Basil Thampi Ricky Bhui Bipul Sharma Carlos Brathwaite Shikhar Dhawan Shreevats Goswami Alex Hales Mehdi Hasan Deepak Hooda Chris Jordan Siddarth Kaul Bhuvneshwar Kumar Mohammad Nabi T Natarajan Manish Pandey Yusuf Pathan Rashid Khan Sachin Baby Wriddhiman Saha (W) Sandeep Sharma Shakib Al Hasan Billy Stanlake

Chennai Super Kings

MS Dhoni (C) (W), KM Asif Sam Billings Chaitanya Bishnoi Dwayne Bravo Deepak Chahar Faf du Plessis Harbhajan Singh Imran Tahir Ravindra Jadeja Kedar Jadhav Narayan Jagadeesan Kshitiz Sharma Monu Kumar Lungi Ngidi Suresh Raina Ambati Rayudu Mitchell Santner Kanishk Seth Karn Sharma Dhruv Shorey Shardul Thakur Murali Vijay Shane Watson David Willey Mark Wood

Also Read: CSK v SRH, Playoff 1: The clash of the Titans, best bowlers against the best batting line up

First published: 22 May 2018, 18:33 IST