Home » india news » Karnataka bypoll results 2019: BJP takes lead in early trends

Karnataka bypoll results 2019: BJP takes lead in early trends

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 9 December 2019, 9:27 IST
Karnataka bypoll results 2019

The counting of votes for the Karnataka by-elections on 15 assembly seats in Karnataka that went to polls on December 5 is underway at 11 centers in the state.

According to official EC trends, the BJP ahead in 10, Congress 2, JD(S) 2 and Independent 1. BJP is leading in Yellapur, Chikkaballapur, Vijayanagara and Mahalaxmi Layout constituencies, Congress is leading in Shivajinagar and Hunasuru constituencies, JDS is leading in KR Pete and Independent candidate SK Bachegowda is leading in Hosakote seat.

The election results will have a bearing on the future of the four-month-old BJP government, led by BS Yediyurappa, in Karnataka.

The counting has begun at 8 am.

The elections had taken place at Yellapur, Ranebennur, Vijayanagar, Yashwanthapur, Mahalakshmi Layout, Chikkaballapura, KR Puram, Shivajinagar, KR Pet, Hunsur, Athani, Kagwad, Gokak, Hirekerur and Hoskote.

While the overall polling percentage was 67.91, the highest voter turnout was recorded in Hoskote assembly segment (90.9 per cent), whereas the lowest was KR Puram (46.74 per cent).

According to the poll officials, the first set of results may come by 11 am.

These byelections were necessitated due to the disqualification of 17 MLAs. While elections took place in 15 segments, the polls in the two other constituencies -- Rajarajeshwari Nagar and Maski -- will be held later as the matter is sub-judice.

As many as 165 candidates contested the election, though it is, by and large, a triangular fight between the Congress, BJP and the JD(S).

The BJP has fielded 13 of the 16 disqualified legislators, who joined the party after the Supreme Court allowed them to contest the bypolls, as its candidates from the constituencies they had won in the 2018 assembly elections on the Congress and JD(S) tickets.

(With PTI Inputs)

Also Read: Karnataka by-polls: Voting begins for 15 assembly constituencies

First published: 9 December 2019, 9:27 IST