Home » National News » RSS thinker Rakesh Sinha, BJP's Dalit leader Ram Shakal among four nominated as Rajya Sabha MPs

RSS thinker Rakesh Sinha, BJP's Dalit leader Ram Shakal among four nominated as Rajya Sabha MPs

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 14 July 2018, 14:17 IST

Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh thinker Rakesh Sinha was nominated by President Ram Nath Kovind as Rajya Sabha MPs. President also nominated former UP MP and BJP's Dalit leader Ram Shakal, classical dancer Sonal Mansingh and stone artist Raghunath Mohapatra as Rajya Sabha MPs.

The nominations were made by President Ram Nath Kovind on the advice of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) said.

BJP's Ram Shakal has been a three-term MP representing Robertsganj constituency of Uttar Pradesh.

"Ram Shakal is an eminent people's leader and a public representative from Uttar Pradesh, who has devoted his life for the welfare and well-being of the Dalit community. A farmer leader, he is widely respected for championing the cause of farmers, labourers and migrants," it said.

Under Article 80 of the Constitution, the President can nominate 12 MPs to Rajya Sabha with special knowledge, or practical experience in respect of literature, science, art and social service. Till now there were eight nominated members in the Rajya Sabha.

RSS thinker Rakesh Sinha is the founder and honorary director of the Delhi-based think-tank India Policy Foundation.

He is a professor at the Motilal Nehru College of the Delhi University and also a member of the Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR).

Raghunath Mohapatra is an internationally renowned authority on stone carving. He has been practising since 1959 and has trained over 2,000 students.

Sonal Mansingh is among the foremost Indian classical dancers. She has been performing Bharatnatyam and Odissi for over six decades. She founded the Centre for Indian Classical Dances in Delhi in 1977.

The nominations have been made to fill the vacancies caused after the retirement of nominated members Sachin Tendulkar, Rekha, Anu Aga and K Parasaran.

Also read: Gujarat BJP Vice President Jayanti Bhanushali accused of raping 21-year-old woman; quits party, calls it conspiracy

First published: 14 July 2018, 14:17 IST