Home » National News » NPP's Conrad Sangma takes oath as Meghalaya Chief Minister

NPP's Conrad Sangma takes oath as Meghalaya Chief Minister

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 6 March 2018, 12:17 IST

National People's Party chief, Conrad Sangma, today took oath as Meghalaya chief minister at Raj Bhavan, bringing an end to the 10-year-long rule of the Congress party in the state. Conrad Sangma is the 12th Chief Minister of the state.

On Sunday, Sangma submitted a letter of 34 legislators support to Governor Ganga Prasad in the 60-member assembly.
At the swearing-in ceremony Union Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP chief Amit Shah and Assam Finance Minister Himanta Biswa Sharma, chairman of North-East Democratic Alliance were also present at Raj Bhavan.

The polling in Meghalaya was held on 27th February and the results of the state assembly were announced on 3rd March. As per results, the Congress won 21 seats, while NPP bagged 19 seats in the 60-member assembly. BJP had a defeat in the state assembly polls and later on, Saturday suggested that the NPP and UDP enter into an alliance to form a "non-Congress government" in the state.

The NPP got support 6 from United Democratic Party (UDP), People's Democratic Front (PDF) four, two each from Hill State People's Democratic Party (HSPDP) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), besides one Independent MLA Samuel Sangma.

Also read: Meghalaya Election: BJP set to form a government, asks NPP took take lead; Conrad Sangma set be CM

Hence, even after bagging a majority of votes, Congress failed to form its government in the state, not with the coalition with other parties.

First published: 6 March 2018, 12:14 IST